Projet d'appui au centre cérémonial Wixárika

IMG_5

Document écrit initialement en espagnol
(Explication sur les mots indigènes vers le bas de la page)

PROJET 3:

SOUTIEN A KAWITEROS1 CENTRE CÉRÉMONIAL WIXÁRIKA
DE CUAXCOMATITLÁN DE SANTA CATARINA, JALISCO, Mexique

IDÉE

Ce projet pilote se compose de l'octroi d'une aide financière mensuelle d'au moins deux anciens et un coordonnateur pour appuyer leurs connaissances, le groupe de Jicareros2 du centre cérémoniel de Santa Catarina Cuaxcomatitlán (Tuapurie), pendant toute une année, avec possibilité de renouvellement annuel.

JUSTIFICATION

IMG_1

Communauté Wixárika, en grande partie assure la continuité de sa tradition spirituelle, les efforts des membres de la communauté qui participent à cinq ans dans le groupe que l'on appelle Jicareros2, qui devrait être conseillé et guidé par les personnes âgées avec plus d'expérience et connaissance de la communauté, quant à la manière correcte de sortir les cérémonies et les pèlerinages.

En raison des conditions d'extrême pauvreté dans laquelle ils vivent plus de la wixárika autochtone3, la participation des aînés, un soutien à des travaux de la Jicareros il devient de plus en plus difficile, Étant donné que d'être présent dans les activités de constantes et prolongées de la Jicareros ils doivent souvent quitter leur milpas4 (les parcelles où les semer et de récolter le maïs) et mettre ainsi en péril leur propre subsistance.

Une des choses plus tristes que j'ai eu à écouter dans ma récente visite à Santa Catarina (Avril de 2014), a l'expression de Felipillo, un jeune orateur enthousiaste qui m'a intéressé dit:

« Nous est coûte beaucoup de travail bien rencontrer notre Gourde », parce que nous n'avons pas Kawitero.
-Comment est-ce possible, Felipe?
– C'est que les personnes âgées sont très pauvres et ne veulent pas quitter leur Milpa pour venir nous aider..."

Le Kawitero est une ancienne très respectée parmi le wixárika, dont la sagesse consiste à connaître et partager l'histoire du « monde » (cosmogonie) la jicareros et la communauté, Au cours de cérémonies et de pèlerinages. Cette cosmogonie sont dérivés des tâches, Formulaires et procédures qui le Jicareros devrait être effectué dans le cadre de sa responsabilité.

Alors, je me rends compte que si nous pouvions rassembler quelques mois un soutien financier à ces anciens viennent régulièrement pour soutenir les jeunes Jicareros, Nous pourrions contribuer de façon modeste, mais la pratique d'une tradition spirituelle qui est importante non seulement pour la survie de Wixárika, mais à tous les êtres humains.

LE JICAREROS

Kalihuey

Les Jicareros sont le groupe responsable pendant cinq ans pour réaliser les cérémonies et Parties5 Communauté communauté spirituelle, ainsi que faire des pèlerinages annuels à des sites sacrés, comme Wirikuta (Municipalité de 14 ans, San Luis Potosí), Hauxa Manaka ( dans Cerro Gorgo, Durango), Tatei Haramara (L'île du roi, San Blas, Nayarit), Xapaviyeme (Lac de Chapala, Jalisco) et Teekata (Sierra Wixárika, Jalisco).

Les Jicareros se réunissent régulièrement au centre cérémonial ou « kaliwey », physiquement, c'est un secteur qui a un bâtiment circulaire en adobe avec un toit du centre de haute altitude de Palm. Dans le kalihuey soin en permanence de Tatewari (feu de grand-père) et le lieu de nombreuses cérémonies tout au long de l'année, En plus des réunions fréquentes et les délibérations nécessaires de la jicareros pour l'organisation de leurs tâches.

Le travail de le Jicareros est difficile, parce qu'elle implique de nombreuses heures de travail et de nombreuses dépenses pour remplir ses obligations spirituelles au nom de la communauté, en même temps ils doivent poursuivre leur travail comme paysans de planter et de récolter le maïs qui est sa base de puissance. Vous devez en faire clairement que les Jicareros ne vois pas de rémunération. économique un et inversement, Ce sont des gens qui vivent dans la pauvreté, qui, dans leurs difficultés économiques quotidiennes, ils devraient ajouter du poids pour se conformer à leurs obligations comme Jicareros. Ces obligations comprennent par exemple, participant aux cérémonies et fêtes traditionnelles, élaborer les offrandes et les emmener vers les lieux saints, participer à des pèlerinages aux lieux sacrés qui peut durer plusieurs semaines et qui peut avoir lieu plusieurs fois par an, etc, Dans ce contexte, l'une des plus grandes menaces pour la continuité de la tradition spirituelle Wixárika est l'extrême pauvreté dans laquelle ils vivent, en raison du développement inégal qui a caractérisé la nation mexicaine depuis le XVIe siècle.

À l'intérieur de la Jicareros, il y a des responsabilités différentes qui dépendent de la jicara7 laquelle chaque membre de prendre en charge. Parmi eux se trouvent le Kawitero; C'est l'ancien responsable de « raconter l'histoire du monde » (cosmogonie) et le Marakame qui est le chanteur responsable de donner une voix à la Feu de grand-père et aider la communication entre les personnes et les Pouvoirs6 nature.

PRÉSENTANT UN INTÉRÊT POUR L'HUMANITÉ

En plus de la valeur intrinsèque, qui est l'héritage spirituel de chaque peuple, la tradition de Wixárika en particulier est de grande valeur pour tous les êtres humains, Depuis son existence nous donne l'occasion de prendre conscience de la nature essentielle de l'expérience spirituelle: le sentir connecté - sans intermédiaires- avec quelque chose qui nous dépasse et nous relie à tout ce qui nous entoure.

La connexion avec les champs d'énergie de nature, que dans ce contexte, qu'il a connu comme des manifestations du Sacré, Il permet de récupérer un sens spirituel de la coexistence harmonieuse avec la nature et avec d'autres êtres humains, qui est non seulement nécessaire, mais vraiment urgent de répondre avec succès à nombreux défis et menaces, que nous sommes confrontés dans les sociétés urbaines occidentales du XXIe siècle.

L'exemple de la spiritualité indienne de wixárika, Cela nous aide parce qu'il peut nous inspirer à la rescousse pour nous, l'expérience spirituelle véritable; qui si souvent se perd entre les méandres idéologiques des grandes religions et leur constante luttant contre d'autres façons de penser.

Que leur survie est comme un Trésor pour toute l'humanité que nous devons contribuer à préserver.

IMG_1

OBJECTIFS DU PROJET

Dans sa phase initiale, le projet vise à rassembler suffisamment de fonds pour fournir un soutien mensuel de 250 $ US par personne, deux anciens et un coordonnateur des autochtone. En outre, le projet vise à fournir US$ 3000 dollars pour le paiement de l'autobus à l'aide de la Jicareros de Santa Catarina, dans son pèlerinage annuel vers le territoire sacré de Wirikuta.

FONDS REQUIS

L'année besoin de fonds pour ce projet sont les suivants:

  • Soutien annuel pour personnes âgées 1: 3000 $ US (US$ 250 $ par mois).
  • Soutien annuel pour personnes âgées 2: 3000 $ US (US$ 250 $ par mois).
  • Aide annuelle aux autochtone coordonnateur: 3000 $ US (US$ 250 $ par mois).
  • Aide annuelle pour le paiement de l'autobus à Wirikuta: 3000 $ US.
  • Soutien pour les frais supplémentaires: 3000 $ US.

Total: US$ 15 000 PAR AN.

DURÉE DU PROJET

Le projet est prévu initialement pour cinq ans.

La première année sera le pilote, après que le résultat sera évalué et ajustements seront évalués pour faire.

Si le projet réussit, Il pourrait devenir permanente et éventuellement développer des autres centres cérémoniels de région wixárika.

MÉCANIQUE DE LA MISE EN ŒUVRE

ÉTAPES DE MISE EN ŒUVRE:

1. CONCEPTION DU PROJET.
2. DIFFUSION DU PROJET ET DÉBUT DES ACTIVITÉS DE FINANCEMENT.
3. PRÉSENTATION OFFICIELLE DU PROJET DANS LE CUAXCOMATITLÁN CENTRE CÉRÉMONIEL DE SANTA CATARINA.
4. SÉLECTION DES ANCIENS.
5. RÉPARTITION DES FONDS À DES PERSONNES CHOISIES.

Les tâches du coordonnateur du projet autochtones seront:

1. Servir de liaison entre le coordonnateur et le projet non autochtones participant et la communauté autochtone.
2. Informer la communauté sur le projet et de promouvoir la participation active de ses membres le même.
3. Enquêter et trouver les anciens appropriés pour aider les nouveaux Jicareros pour soutenir votre tradition.
4. Faire un bref rapport mensuel à la coordonnatrice du projet, sur les progrès et les résultats du projet à l'intérieur de la communauté.

En raison des caractéristiques spécifiques requis, le coordinateur du projet autochtones est élu par le coordonnateur général du projet.

Le kawiteros personnes âgées peuvent être proposées par le coordonnateur autochtone ou par n'importe quel membre du groupe Jicareros, mais en tout cas son choix doit être approuvé par le groupe de Jicareros.

Les tâches des conseillers en assurance des personnes âgées centre cérémoniel seront:

1. Allez dans le centre de cérémonie une fois par semaine à partager leurs connaissances et de soutien au groupe jicareros à s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités.

2. La durée de la participation des personnes âgées conseillers lors de chaque visite le centre cérémoniel, On déterminera par eux-mêmes, en accord avec le groupe de jicareros.

Les tâches du coordonnateur du projet non autochtones seront:

1. Conception du projet
2. Diffusion du projet
3. Donateurs et membres de la recherche
4. Surveiller et soutenir leur fonctionnement pour les trois premières années
5. Trouver responsable du soutien pour la mise en œuvre du projet
6. Collecte et de distribution des fonds
7. Recherche d'un successeur qui donne la continuité au projet
8. Rédiger un rapport mensuel de l'avancement du projet, réalisé à tous les donateurs du projet.

Comment vous pouvez aider

Pour financer le projet grâce à des dons uniques ou répétitives, ou à l'appui d'une autre manière, S'il vous plaît écrivez-nous en utilisant le formulaire de contact dans le menu ci-dessus..

La date limite pour obtenir les fonds pour ce projet est: 1 en janvier de 2015.

Si vous souhaitez faire un don dès maintenant, Vous pouvez:

1. Utiliser les dons pour le bouton de droite, en haut de cette page.
o
2. Accédez à une page sur un site web de financement collectif (youcaring.com), où vous pouvez surveiller la progression vers notre objectif d'économique. Il est facile à faire et vous emmènera à seulement une minute ou deux, examiner les informations contenues.

POUR ALLER À LA PAGE WIXÁRIKA DANS YOUCARING.COM:

S'IL VOUS PLAÎT CLIQUEZ ICI

Coordinatrice générale du projet: Víctor Sánchez

IMG_1

 

Notes sur le sens des mots dans la langue Wixárika ou spéciales utilisées dans ce document:

1. Kawitero. Cela signifie que “conteur”, C'est le vieil homme sage qui sait le “histoire du monde” et à cause de sa longue expérience, vous connaissez les moyens et les procédures à suivre par les membres de la Communauté pendant les cérémonies et les pèlerinages. Tout groupe de Jicareros devrait avoir une Kawitero, qui est presque toujours la personne du groupe d'âge plus. C'est précisément l'absence d'un Kawitero experimenté, Ce qui est créer de l'incertitude dans le groupe de Jicareros de Santa Catarina.

2. Jicareros. Ils sont chargés d'organiser les cérémonies de la communauté et les pèlerinages vers les lieux sacrés pendant cinq ans. Après cinq ans, ils sont remplacés par d'autres membres de la communauté, ceux qui sont élus par le “feu de grand-père” au cours de cérémonies spéciales. Sont appelés Jicareros, car, avec leurs femmes, ils soignent un “jicara” C'est un bol fait par le bas d'une citrouille ou guaje pour sauver des objets sacrés qui sont passés à la nouvelle jicareros et sont préservées de génération en génération. Symboliquement, Depuis l'époque de la conquête, la gourde représente ce qui contient et protège quelque chose de sacré. Pour cette raison, les jicareros sont chargés de protéger et de maintenir la tradition spirituelle wixárika. Chaque locuteur a une charge qui représente quelque pouvoir ou la Déité et leur comportement doit être conforme aux caractéristiques de ce que représente. Les jicareros sont généralement autour de trente ans, Bien que leur nombre peut varier. Le groupe comprend des familles leurs femmes et leurs enfants. La femme est considérée comme la gourde (et elle garde physique jicara) et l'homme est considéré comme “la flèche”, le rôle des deux est tout aussi important pour la communauté.

3. Wixárika. C'est le nom donné à savoir si eux-mêmes ces Indiens qui vivent dans les montagnes du Nord de l'état de Jalisco. Mexicains et étrangers, souvent connus comme “Huichol”, mais nous respectons toujours les appeler wixárika ou le pluriel: wixaritari (le X est prononcé comme le R double en espagnol, Bien qu'un peu plus doux).

4. Milpa. C'est le nom du champ de maïs et a une valeur sacrée, parce que là, ils obtiennent leur subsistance le wixárika. La relation avec le maïs est la réciprocité, car ainsi que de l'être humain, vous avez besoin de maïs à vivre, donc aussi les besoins du maïs d'êtres humains à vivre, Puisqu'il ne poussent pas en soi que dans la nature. La relation de la wixárika avec son milpa, est profondément émotionnelle, Depuis le maïs pas simplement comme une ressource est considérée comme, mais comme quelque chose de sacré.

5. Parties. Le groupe de mot en espagnol est comme “Parti” In French, mais le parti de wixárika n'est pas une danse pour s'amuser ou prendre d'autre alcool, mais au contraire, Il est appelé ainsi à leurs cérémonies et fêtes spirituelles, elles durent souvent plusieurs jours et auquel participe la communauté. Il s'agit notamment de la fête du tambour (Tatei Neirra), la fête de la pluie, l'adieu du peyotl (hikuri neirra), parmi beaucoup d'autres.

6. Puissance. C'est un mot similaire à “puissance” mais n'est pas la même, Depuis représentant les champs d'énergie de la nature et sont considérés comme sacré. Il existe plusieurs types de pouvoirs, comme par exemple le pouvoir, qui vit sur une montagne ou dans un œil d'eau. Cependant les plus importants sont “les cinq grandes” Quels sont les feu grand-père, Père Soleil, Terre-mère, l'eau de frère et la mère du vent.

Support Project for Wixarika Ceremonial Center

IMG_5

Document written originally in Spanish
(Explanation on words indigenous to the bottom of the page)

PROJECT 3:

SUPPORT TO KAWITEROS1 FROM THE WIXARIKA CEREMONIAL CENTER
OF SANTA CATARINA CUEXCOMATITLAN, JALISCO, MEXICO

MAIN IDEA

This pilot project consists on granting a monthly financial support to at least two elders and one coordinator who, with their knowledge will support, the Group of Jicareros2 of the Ceremonial Center of Santa Catarina Cuaxcomatitlán (Tuapurie), throughout a full year, with the possibility of yearly renewal.

JUSTIFICATION

IMG_1

In the Wixárika community, the continuity of their spiritual traditions is largely ensured, through the efforts of members of the community whom for five years participate in the group of the so called Jicareros2, The "Jicareros" must be guided and advised by the most experienced and knowledgeable elders of the community, about the right way of carrying out the pilgrimages and ceremonies.

Due to the extreme poverty condition in which most of the wixárika indignous people live3, the participation of elders giving support to the work of the Jicareros becomes increasingly difficult, because in order to be present in the constant and prolonged activities of the Jicareros they must frequently leave their milpas4 (the land where they sow and harvest corn) and therefore, put their own livelihood at risk.

One of the saddest things that I heard in my recent visit to Santa Catarina (April of 2014), was when Felipillo, a young and enthusiastic Jicarero, shared this concern with me:

"It's been very difficult for us to carry out our duties as Jicareros, because we do not have a Kawitero.
-How is that possible, Felipe?
– It's because the elders are so poor that they are afraid of leaving their milpa to come and help us..."

The Kawitero is a highly respected elder among the wixárika, whose wisdom consists in knowing and sharing the "story of the world" (cosmogony) for the jicareros and the community, during the pilgrimages and ceremonies. From this cosmogony arise the tasks, forms and procedures that the Jicareros must carry out as part of their responsibility.

That is why I came to think if we could provide some monthly financial support so that these elders could regularly support the young Jicareros, we would be contributing in a modest, but practical way, to the survival of a spiritual tradition that is important not only for the Wixárika people, but to all human beings.

THE JICAREROS

Kalihuey

The Jicareros are group responsible for five years to carry out the ceremonies and fiestas5 of the community, as well as making annual pilgrimages to the sacred sites, such as Wirikuta (Municipality of Catorce, San Luis Potosí), Hauxa Manaka ( in Cerro Gorgo, Durango), Tatei Haramara (Isla del Rey, San Blas, Nayarit), Xapaviyeme (Lake Chapala, Jalisco) and Teekata (Sierra Wixárika, Jalisco).

The Jicareros gather regularly at the Ceremonial Center or "kaliwey", which physically is an area that at its center has a circular building made of adobe with a very high conical palm roof. In the kalihuey they take care permanently of Tatewari (the grandfather fire) and many ceremonies take place throughout the year, besides the frequent meetings and deliberations of the jicareros which are required for the organization of their tasks.

The work of the Jicareros is difficult, because it implies many hours of work and many expenses to fulfill his spiritual obligations on behalf of the entire community, while at the same time they have to continue with their work as peasants to plant and harvest corn, which is the basis of their diet. Let's make it clear that the Jicareros do not receive any sort of salary or payment. for their work but on the contrary, they are people living in great poverty, who on top of their daily economic difficulties, they have to comply with their obligations as Jicareros. Among these obligations are -for instance-, participating in the traditional ceremonies and fiestas, elaborate offerings and take them to their sacred places, participate in pilgrimages to sacred sites that can last several weeks and which can take place several times a year, etc., In this context, one of the greatest threats to the continuity of the spiritual Wixárika tradition is the extreme poverty in which they live, due to the uneven development that has marked the Mexican nation since the 16th century.

Among the Jicareros there are different responsibilities which depend of the jicara7 which each member of the group is entrusted with. Among them are the Kawitero; who is the elder responsible of 'telling the story of the world' (cosmogony) and the Marakame who is the singer shaman responsible for giving voice to the Grandfather Fire and help the communication between the people and the Poderios6 of nature.

RELEVANCE TO MANKIND

In addition to the inherent value that all spiritual heritages have, the Wixárika tradition in particular is of huege value for all human beings, especially because its existence gives us the opportunity to raise our awareness about the essential nature of the spiritual experience: the feeling of being connected - without intermediaries- to something that transcends us and connects us to everything around us.

The connection with the energy fields of nature, which in this context are experienced as manifestations of the sacred, allows us to recover a spiritual sense of harmonious co-existence with nature and with other human beings, which is not only necessary, but truly urgent to successfully respond to the many challenges and threats that we face in the western urban societies of the 21st century.

The example of the indigenous wixárika spirituality, can inspire us to rescue, the real spiritual experience; which so often gets lost between the ideological labyrinths of the main religions of the world and their constant fighting against other ways of thinking.

That is why their survival is like a treasure for all human kind that we must contribute to preserve.

IMG_1

GOALS OF THE PROJECT

In its initial stage, the project aims to gather enough funds to provide a monthly support of $250 USD per person, for two elders and one wixarika coordinator. Additionally, the project seeks to provide US$ 3000 dollars for the payment of the bus that the Jicareros of Santa Catarina, use for their yearly pilgrimage to the sacred territory of Wirikuta.

REQUIRED FUNDS

The yearly funds required for this project are the following:

  • Annual support for elder 1: US$3000 (US$250 per month).
  • Annual support for elder 2: US$3000 (US$250 per month).
  • Annual support for indigenous coordinator: US$3000 (US$250 per month).
  • Yearly support for the renting of the bus to Wirikuta: US$3000.
  • Estimated extra expenses: US$3000.

Total: US$15,000 PER YEAR.

DURATION OF THE PROJECT

The project is initially planned to run for five years.

The first year will be the pilot phase, after which we will evaluate the results and assess what adjustments we need to make.

If the project is successful, it could become permanent and eventually expand to other ceremonial centers in the wixárika region.

IMPLEMENTATION PROCESS

IMPLEMENTATION STEPS:

1. PROJECT DESIGN.
2. PROMOTION OF THE PROJECT AND FUNDRAISING.
3. OFFICIAL PRESENTATION OF THE PROJECT IN THE CEREMONIAL CENTER OF SANTA CATARINA CUAXCOMATITLÁN.
4. SELECTION OF ELDERS.
5. DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS FOR THE ELDERS AND THE INDIGENOUS COORDINATOR.

The tasks of the indigenous project coordinator will be:

1. To serve as a the link between the non-indigenous members of the project and the indigenous community.
2. To inform the community about the project and promote the active participation of the community members on it.
3. To search and find the appropriate elders to help the new Jicareros to the preservation of their tradition.
4. Make a brief monthly report for the coordinator of the project, about the progress and results of the project within their community.

Due to the specific characteristics required, the indigenous project coordinator will be appointed by the general coordinator of the project.

The kawiteros elders may be suggested by the indigenous coordinator or by any member of the Jicareros group, but in any case his election must be approved by the Group of Jicareros.

The tasks of the elderly advisors of the ceremonial center will be:

1. Go to the ceremonial center once a week to share their knowledge and support the Jicareros in carrying out their responsibilities.

2. The duration of the visit of elderly advisors to the ceremonial center, will be determined by themselves in agreement with the group of jicareros.

The tasks of the non-indigenous project coordinator will be:

1. To design the project
2. Promotion of the project
3. Seek for supporters and donors
4. Monitor and support the functioning of the project for the first three years
5. To find responsible supporting individuals to execute the project
6. Gathering and distributing the funds
7. Search for a successor that would give continuity to the project
8. Issue a monthly report of the project's progress, directed to all donors and supporters.

How you can help

To support the project with single or recurring donations, or to support it in some other way, please send us a letter us using the contact form in the menu above.

The deadline to get the funds for this project is: 1 in January of 2015.

If you wish to donate right now, You can:

1. Use the donations to the right button, at the top of this page.
o
2. Go to a page on a web site of collective funding (youcaring.com), where can you monitor progress towards our goal of economic. It is easy to make and will take you only a minute or two reviewing the information contained.

TO GO TO THE PAGE WIXÁRIKA IN YOUCARING.COM:

PLEASE CLICK HERE

Project General Coordinator: Victor Sanchez

IMG_1

 

Notes about the meaning of the words in wixarika language and some other special words in this text:

1. Kawitero. It means “storyteller”, It is the wise old man who knows the “story of the world” and who because of his long experience, knows the ways and procedures to be followed by the members of the community during ceremonies and pilgrimages. Every group of Jicareros should have a Kawitero, who is almost always the oldest member of the group. It is precisely the lack of a Kawitero with the necessary experience, what is creating uncertainty in the Group of Jicareros of Santa Catarina.

2. Jicareros. They are the ones who, for five years are responsible of organizing the community ceremonies and pilgrimages to the sacred places during five years. After five years, they are replaced by other members of the community, who are are choosen by the “grandfather fire” in special ceremonies. Thay are called Jicareros because, together with their women they care one “jicara” which is a bowl made from the bottom of a gourd or guaje in which sacred objects are kept and passed to the new jicareros. Thay have been preserved from generation to generation. Symbolically, since the times before the conquest, the jicara represents that which contains and protects something sacred. For this reason, the jicareros are responsible to protect and maintain the wixárika spiritual tradition. Every jicarero a roll that represents some poderio or deity and their behavior must be in accordance to the characteristics of the deity they represent. The jicareros are usually around thirty, although their number may vary. The group includes their women and their children. The woman is considered the gourd or jicara (and she keeps the physical jicara) and the man is considered “the arrow”, the role of both is equally important for the community.

3. Wixarika. It is the way this indigenous people call themselves. They live in the mountains of the North of the State of Jalisco. Mexicans and foreigners most time know them as “Huichols”, but out of respect we always call them Wixárika or the plural: Wixaritari (the X is pronounced like the double R in Spanish, although in a softer way, represented by the X).

4. Milpa. It is the name of the cornfield and has a sacred value because it is from the milpa that the Wixarika they get their livelihood. The relationship with the corn is that of reciprocity, because in the same way human beings need the corn to live, the corn also needs the human beings to live, because it doesn't grow by itself in nature. The relationship of the wixárika with their milpa, is deeply emotional, because they dont see corn just as a resource, but as something sacred.

5. Fiestas. The word fiesta in Spanish is as “the word party” In English, however the wixárika fiesta is not about dancing, have fun or drink alcohol, but on the contrary, they call fiesta to their spiritual celebrations and ceremonies, which often times last for several days and in which the entire community participates. They include the Fiesta del Tambor or Ceremony of the drum (Tatei Neirra), the Ceremony of the Rain or Fiesta de la Lluvia, the farewell to peyote (hikuri neirra), among many others.

6. Poderio. It is word similar to “power” but is not the same, because it represents the fields of energy of nature, which are considered sacred. There are many types of poderios, as for example the poderío living on a mountain or in a water spring. However the most important ones are “the big five” which are: Grandfather Fire, Father Sun, Mother Earth, Brother Wind and Mother Water.